My Music’s Better Than Your Music

Image

Music is a wonderful part of this small planet we call home. It can reflect our every mood, cause memories of times long past to come flooding back to the fore and even help you to focus on any number of tasks and obstacles you have to overcome in life. There are hundreds of different genres and millions of different artists out there; enough variety to encapsulate everyone’s interest and passion at some point.

So why is my music better than yours?

Well, it’s not. I’ve been passionate for music for some time now, collecting hundreds of albums and exploring the genres I love, with some songs timeless favourites and others simply there to reflect and enhance the different moods I may be in. But of course with the vast array of music out there, along with allowing all to enjoy at least some of it, there is also the accompanying fact that there will be parts you don’t like. Personally I have little time outside of the odd drunken excursion to a night club for the dubstep and R’n’B frequented in the top charts. Although this is but a personal feeling of mine, unfortunately this is where the problem starts.

Image

The key focus in current media which drew my attention to this topic is the widespread apparent hatred for artists such as One Direction and Justin Bieber. Now I have little interest in these myself, but what strikes me is the fact that in an instant society bred them to be objects of derision for those outside of their target audience range. These artists largely became popular with teenage girls, objects of idolisation with some catchy tunes to match. What I’m sure these singers did not expect was to be mocked every time conversation turned to them, both on television and in general social interaction. Music is not about who you don’t like; you don’t listen to those artists. It’s about who you do enjoy, with personal music players allowing you to listen to whoever you wish in absolute privacy. The problem with such outright contempt for these bands that have been associated with teenagers and ‘fan-girling’ (another point of general aversion in todays society), is that others who also enjoy them then feel awkward or even ashamed to display this outside of their own privacy. I must ashamedly admit that I was a part of this problem before, somewhat condemning someone’s taste in music if they appreciated this genre. People didn’t wish to be associated with such widely despised music, so they made it clear they didn’t by mocking others for doing so. Indeed it was only upon discovering that one of my friends, a 19 year old rugby playing male, enjoyed the band One Direction to the point where he even pinned a poster of them to his wall that I finally fell from my high musical horse and got over my own taste in music. Admittedly, I even enjoy a few of the bands more upbeat songs, although I still personally wouldn’t listen to them religiously.

So there you have it. Music shouldn’t be denoted by the general tastes of the majority, if you like it then there should be no issue in it. Everyone has a few ‘guilty pleasure’ songs in their collections, so why mock others for openly enjoying theirs?

Leave a Reply

